Make Poverty History

15 Oct

This week I am changing my angle slightly, while my post is still about food and healthy food for that matter, this week I want to highlight the importance of helping those in need. With the holiday season approaching (I know it is only October, but I LOVE the Holidays) it is important to remember those less fortunate than ourselves.

Whole Planet Foundation is an organization that works extremely hard to help those in need. Before today I had no idea there existed a Poverty Is Unnecessary Day. On October 25, Whole Planet Foundation and nine Whole Foods Market suppliers are celebrating Poverty is Unnecessary Day. Each supplier has committed $25,000 this year to fund Whole Planet Foundation’s micro lending efforts around the world. Each donation is enough to provide 120 families with loans and the chance to change their lives. It is very inspiring to see an organization give back to people who allow us to put our food on our plates. I decided to “digg” this article, based solely on the fact that I think what Whole Planet Foundation is doing is very encouraging and that the rest of the world should get on board with helping to eliminate poverty. There is NO need for poverty in our world.

I remind my husband as we enter into the Holiday season that we need to give to the less fortunate, but while I am writing this blog post I realize we should be giving to the less fortunate all the time, not just during the Holiday season. We forget to be thankful on a daily basis, for the GOOD things we have in life – our health, family and friends, and the political, social, and economic climate in Canada that enables each of us to live our own lives for each of our own dreams.  Make a promise to yourself to remember the simple things in life, and to be thankful for all that you have. I want to remind and encourage everyone to pick up an extra pack of bacon for those less fortunate than ourselves. However, with the imminent bacon shortage approaching perhaps each of our donations would stretch a little further and have a stronger impact if we all picked up some fruits and vegetables instead of everybody’s favorite pork product.

Leave a comment

The Vegetarian Wife

The happily ever after of a veggie lover and carnivore

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.